W New York - Times Square

New York City Hip Hotel
W New York - Times Square #344 of 511 hotels in New York City #344 of 511 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
1567 Broadway At 47th St New York, NY 10036

Why we like it

  • This is a perfect business travel choice
  • Very chic, excellent decor
  • Rooms are cozy and comfortable
  • On-site bar and spa let you blow off some steam
  • Very clean and well-kept property

What you need to know

  • Beware of moving anything on the mini bar, it will charge you if you displace anything
  • Drinks are pricey at the on-site bar
  • Rooms are on the small side
  • In-room toiletries are by Bliss
  • Conference spaces are available if you need to make a business presentation

Popular NYC Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Restaurant On-site Bar Free WiFi Rooftop Bar Smoke Free

Location

With a stay at W New York - Times Square, you'll be centrally located in New York, steps from Broadway and 5 minutes by foot from Times Square. This 4.5-star hotel is 0.4 mi (0.7 km) from Rockefeller Center and 0.6 mi (0.9 km) from Central Park.

Property Amenities

Activities

  • Fitness facilities
  • Shopping on site

Property services

  • Pets allowed
  • Luggage storage
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • ATM/banking
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Conference space

Business services

  • Conference center
  • Business center
  • Computer station

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • Valet parking (surcharge)

Food and drink

  • Wedding services
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • Rainfall showerhead

Media and electronics

  • DVD player
  • WiFi (surcharge)
  • Cable TV service
  • Pay movies
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels

Bathroom

  • Bathrobes
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Premium bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available
  • Down comforter

Food and drink

  • Minibar

Reviews

W New York - Times Square

4,899 Reviews #344 of 511 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    2068
  • Very Good
    1504
  • Average
    698
  • Poor
    386
  • Terrible
    243
  • GreenLeader Silver level

Recent Reviews

kcsundevil26 wrote a review on February 19, 2020 Portland, Maine
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Great location. Dirty, cramped and outdated room.

My girlfriend and I spent Valentine's Day weekend at W New York Times Square. While we enjoyed the great location and overall vibe of the hotel (lobby area and bar), we were most disappointed in the cleanliness of the room (King standard room), specifically the bathroom. The room was cramped, very worn, and for the life of me I don't understand why the dividing wall from the bedroom to the bathroom is transparent (frosted glass). It gives the person in the bathroom/toilet ZERO privacy. The lobby service was just OK, went down and spoke to the concierge a couple times seeking advice on a good bunch spot and none of the gentlemen could really offer much help. I was surprised by that. We had a great weekend but definitely would not stay at the W again, given all the other options in Times Square.

TeamMarriott, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review

Hello kcsundevil26, Thank you for choosing to spend your Valentine’s Day weekend with us. We appreciate you sharing an honest review of your experience. Be assured that the cleanliness of our rooms and hotel is of the utmost importance to us, so we are truly sorry for the cleaning oversights in your room. The service issues you encountered with our Talent are not indicative of the energetic service that we normally provide, and your concerns and helpful feedback will be addressed with the appropriate managers as well as our Style Department. Corrective adjustments will be made to ensure a better outcome for our future guests, and please know that we are disheartened to know that we disappointed you. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the amplified flawless stay we are known for and that you deserve. We wish you all the best in your future travels. Best Regards, Christine Devers Complex General Manager

jgalanti wrote a review on February 18, 2020 New York
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Great for a Night in the City

This hotel was great for what it offers - location in Times Square, very cool bar and lobby floor, chic room. This is what we wanted for a short stay in the city. As other reviewers noted - request a high floor. Room 2809 had a window facing north, not Times Square, and there was hardly any street noise. The room was cool stylistically, and had more room than I expected, but was pretty bare. Really comfortable bed, lounging chair against the window, bathroom with shaded door (so the light will wake up anyone sleeping in the room in the middle of the night). Also, don't expect family travel amenities - there's no complementary breakfast, microwaves, fridges... this is a hotel that's great for staying the night with minimal baggage. Drinks at the bar were pricey, and $25 of the tab is prepaid as a room fee, fyi. Parking for $45/$75 isn't ridiculous for that part of the city, but you can look online for coupons for other parking lots in the area. In addition, street parking is available if you're willing to move your car occasionally for street parking. Overall, check-in was smooth, room was clean and good, location was perfect for dinner and a show and visiting Rockefeller and MOMA (especially with street parking on 9th ave). For coffee, skip Starbucks and go to Frisson Espresso nearby!

TeamMarriott, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review

Hello jgalanti, Thank you for the wonderful rating for W New York - Times Square. We believe in creating a vibrant and memorable experience for each of our guests, and we are thrilled you enjoyed our prime location, bold accommodations, vibrant bar, and energetic service. However, we do regret not meeting all of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Christine Devers Complex General Manager

triplesec4 wrote a review on February 18, 2020 Long Island, New York
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

weekend in NYC

Stayed at this W in times square for 2 nights. Talk about in the middle of everything. Well this hotle is in the middle of ll the times square action. hotel very modern and up to date.Check in was easy . Our room was on the top floor, Nice view,clean modern and confortatble.Not a bad size for NYC hotel. What I did not like was no coffee maker of refrig. and no coffee shop in hotel. Breakfast all though was ok ,overpriced. But all and all nice stay

TeamMarriott, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review

Hello triplesec4, Thank you for your recent stay at W New York - Times Square and your gracious review. We are thrilled to know you loved our unique property, urban accommodations with fantastic views and that you were pleased with a seamless check-in. Located in Midtown Manhattan, we are also happy our never boring location added to the enjoyment of your visit. We are always looking for ways to continuously improve, and we appreciate the feedback. Please visit us again the next time you are in the Big Apple! Best Regards, Christine Devers Complex General Manager

Plee1108 wrote a review on February 17, 2020
Trip Type: Couples

GREAT HOTEL BUT I DONT AGREE WITH SOME OF THEIR FEES

Hotel was clean, staff was great the only problem I have is that valet parking is $75/night with no ins and outs. Takes about 30-45 min to get your car when you do call for it. We didn’t have a refrigerator nor a microwave so when we went out to eat and brought our food back to the hotel we had to throw it away because of no storage. Also when I called the front desk to ask about using a microwave they told me the microwave would be brung to my room but I would have to pay $50 to use it. $50 to use a microwave is ridiculous

TeamMarriott, Director of Welcome Office at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review

Hello Plee1108, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We regret you were disappointed with the cost of our valet parking and additional amenity fees. Our fees are competitively priced and posted on our website so guests can have this information before booking with us. We hope this experience did not overshadow your overall impression of us. Your concerns are with our Talent to help us continue to provide the commitment to excellence for which we are known. It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we hope you join us the next time you visit the area. Thank you, Helen Amponsah Director of Welcome Office

olgapoz777 wrote a review on February 17, 2020
Trip Type: Family

Good hotel, highly recommend

We have stayed at this hotel for four nights for the Valentine’s Day weekend. Location is great, just around the corner from Times Square and within walking distance to all main attractions. 7 min walking distance to Central Park. We had a Suite with a king bed. Very satisfied with the room quality and furniture everything was clean and new. We were a little bit annoyed with the noise from the street though, maybe some noise protection devices would be helpful. We were disappointed with the room service food order. Ordered chicken soup and noodles from the kids menu and the cost of the food was around 24.00 dollars but we were charged 60 bucks because they added room service charge. Like I understand the room charge but triple the cost of your food??!! 🤨 chicken soup itself is very good, big chunks of real chicken with a lot of veggies. Noodles were very good too, portions would easily feed two kids.

TeamMarriott, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review

Hello olgapoz777, Thank you for sharing an enlightening review of Valentine’s weekend you spent with us! We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we are charmed to know you were very satisfied with the quality and cleanliness of your accommodations. We also appreciate your providing us with details letting us know how we can amplify our guest experience. We are sorry that you had problems with street noise and know that our Talent is always available to do whatever is needed to make you comfortable. It is unfortunate that you were unhappy with the In-Room Dining service charge, but be assured that your concerns have been shared with our Beverage and Food manager for further review. It is comforting to know that these matters did not completely overshadow your visit, and you highly recommend us to other travelers. On behalf of all of our Talent, thank you for your patronage, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you when your travels bring you back to New York City. Best Regards, Christine Devers Complex General Manager

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.