New York Marriott Marquis

Midtown Convention Hotel
New York Marriott Marquis #254 of 498 hotels in New York City #254 of 498 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
1535 Broadway New York, NY 10036

Why we like it

  • This hotel stands squarely behind the Marriott name in both quality and service
  • Has the best views of Times Square, look directly down into the hustle and bustle
  • A revolving restaurant and lounge on the top floors is a unique must-see
  • Rooms are large, comfortable, and well-furnished
  • Luxurious without being fussy

What you need to know

  • The interior elevators are glass, enjoy a high-rise view during your ride
  • This location is one of the most popular, and busy, in midtown
  • The city might never sleep, but lower-floor venues close at midnight here
  • The concierge lounge is a luxe place to people-watch
  • In unit sofa beds increase sleeping capacity

Popular NYC Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Restaurant On-site Bar Free WiFi Rooftop Bar Smoke Free

Location

Along with Times Square, this majestic hotel is literally at the center of New York. Enjoy the glitz and glamour of Broadway, play the tourist on the Square, or grab a ride to anywhere in Manhattan from this perfectly-situated hotel. Rockefeller Center Station, two blocks away, will be your go-to subway stop.

  • Distance to Times Square: 0.3 mile
  • Distance to Central Park: 1.2 mile

Property Amenities

Business services

  • Conference center
  • Business center

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Wedding services
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee shop or cafe
  • Snack bar/deli

Property services

  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Smoke-free property
  • ATM/banking
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Conference space
  • Free newspapers in lobby

Activities

  • Shopping on site
  • 24-hour health club

Shuttles and transportation

  • Limo or Town Car service available

Parking

  • Valet parking (surcharge)

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Private bathroom
  • Shower/tub combination

Media and electronics

  • WiFi (surcharge)
  • Cable TV service
  • Pay movies
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels

Services

  • Free newspaper
  • Daily housekeeping

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Shower/tub combination

Bedding and linens

  • Premium bedding
  • Sofa bed

Reviews

New York Marriott Marquis

12,673 Reviews #254 of 498 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    5750
  • Very Good
    4448
  • Average
    1504
  • Poor
    555
  • Terrible
    416
  • GreenLeader Bronze level

Recent Reviews

lynnc156 wrote a review on June 18, 2019 New York City, New York
Trip Type: Couples

Great hotel

Great hotel right in the middle of Times Square. Extremely expensive for what it is. You 100% pay for location here. They tack on a $30 daily resort fee too. The guy who works the tourist booth couldn't be ruder to us. We enjoyed the hotel restaurants but were forced to eat there to use the daily $30 food credit. Food is insanely expensive at the hotel too. Beds are comfortable, shower is just ok. Elevators take forever to get despite the large number of them in the hotel.

TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review

Dear ynnc156, We are so glad you stayed with us and we appreciate you sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We regret the negative experience you had as our guest. This is not the level of service we strive to provide and we hope it did not overshadow your ability to enjoy our fantastic city. Our goal is to leave our guests completely satisfied and we apologize this was not your experience. We are grateful for your feedback regarding our destination fee and we will share this with the appropriate individuals as we evaluate what we can do to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest. We are confident we can replace this experience with a much more positive memory! Gabby Roque Guest Relations Manager

GoPlaces631626 wrote a review on June 18, 2019
Trip Type: Family
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Service

Poor service and a nice bait and switch

The hotel itself is in a great location and overall very nice. However, be careful. There is a $30 per day service charge. At check-in we were told that the $30 per day service charge gave us $30 per day credit at any of the restaurants on the 8th Floor (the hotel starts on the 8th floor with registration/restaurants/concierge, etc. Unfortunately this is not true. You can not use your $30 credit at all of the restaurants on the 8th floor. There was zero effort at customer service when we received our bill and asked about it. Concierge was barely helpful and not friendly (x2) and the bell desk managing luggage could not have been less interested in service but only in a nice tip. So, if you are only after location and don't care about service, this is a great location. Otherwise, there are lots of other options in the same area.

TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review

Dear GoPlaces631626, Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback! We are delighted to know you found our location to be convenient and our hotel to be nice however, we apologize there was miscommunication regarding our destination fee and how to apply it to your stay. We have shared this feedback with our front desk to ensure this is properly communicated during check-in. We strive to provide prompt, warm and inspiring service from our team and we are disappointed to learn this was not your experience in regarding your interaction with several of our team members. We will be sharing your concerns with our team to ensure we remain focused on our guests' satisfaction. We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Gabby Roque Guest Relations Manager

Arr Jay R wrote a review on June 18, 2019 Cincinnati, Ohio
Trip Type: Couples
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service

Don’t bother

Get an off-Broadway hotel; This was a waste of money. At check-in, they will try to upsell you on rooms with a view of Times Square or a room on a higher floor. They put us on the first floor of the hotel (#10) facing Times Square without buying in (a lot of neon right outside of the window but not a view of the Square). Rooms are located in a round (or square to be technically correct), so the minute you exit your room everybody within a five-floor radius can see you. A loud bar/restaurant is at the center of the floors on #8, so you have to deal with that noise late at night and early in the morning. If you want to avoid this, pay the extra $100/night for a floor higher up. When we entered our room, it smelled like a cheap hotel. Because of the humidity, I gave them a pass on this point. Don’t forget the per night “destination fee.” In 2019 it was $30/night plus tax, so $100 for 3 nights. Everyone on the housekeeping staff was very pleasant and friendly, something at odds with everyone else in the city. The location was awesome and very central for everything we wanted to do that weekend.

TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review

Dear Arr Jay R, Thank you for being our guest and mentioning how much you loved our location and how central we are to some of the best spots in our city. We regret that we disappointed you with some aspects of your stay as our goal is never to leave a guest disappointed. We apologize your room left you frustrated. We are excited to share we are in the beginning phases of transforming our rooms so we hope to create an inspiring place for our guests to relax. We apologize you did not find value in our destination fee. We will share this with the appropriate individuals as we are always striving to enhance our guest experience. We hope you will reconsider and give us the chance to leave you with a better impression in the future. Gabby Roque Guest Relations Manager

Daniel W wrote a review on June 17, 2019
Trip Type:

Family of 4 in June/not kid friendly

My wife and I had been here before, so we decided to bring the kids. It was too busy , and they catered to the business class. The elevators were seriously overloaded. So if you want to go to your room at 5:00 pm, you have to wait 30 minutes. (apparently they have a huge problem with this) And if you want to go downstairs, don't forget anything in your room. Housekeeping did not show up until after 5, after a long day of sightseeing, you don't want that. We are also Marriot Elite members and we received nothing special. Going here will make you feel like a herd of cattle. Again, the elevators are horrid.

TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, W, Thank you for sharing about your recent stay. We apologize we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We are disappointed you didn't feel like a valued guest. We strive to ensure we provide warm and genuine service to every guest and we regret you left with a negative impression. During peak times our elevators do have delays and we apologize for the impact this had on your visit. We will share your feedback regarding the time housekeeping services our rooms with our housekeeping manager to ensure we are keeping our guests in mind. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you are in the area. Thank you again. Gabby Roque Guest Relations Manager

Teacher2nd wrote a review on June 16, 2019 Florida
Trip Type:

Disappointing

The customer service has gone way down since my husband had a previous visit in 2017. Marriott used to be our first choice for hotels, but we are rethinking that as well. Even booking as a lifetime Titanium member(guess it used to be Platinum???), they aren't really interested in ensuring a pleasant stay. We were told that one must pay extra for any of the perks that are supposed to be included for brand loyalty. That may be since the merger, it is very confusing as a traveler. Which is ok, but the front desk doesn't need to be rude and condescending about it. There are many other hotel choices in the area that hopefully offer better service.

TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review

Dear Teacher2nd, First and foremost, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands and for your review. We strive to always live up to Marriott standards, and we are sorry your experience here was disappointing due to our overall service and lack of appreciation of our Marriott Bonvoy rewards guests. We will share your feedback with our staff to ensure our loyal travelers are receiving the experience they expect and deserve. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Gabby Roque Guest Relations Manager

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.

Check-in

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy. Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges. Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.